Great Lakes Division

International Association of Fire Chiefs


Chief Timm Schabbel
Term Ends August 2026
Clay Fire Territory
18355 Auten Rd
South Bend, IN 46637
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Chief Timm Schabbel has been in the fire service since 1985, including serving 20 years as Fire Chief of the Clay Fire Territory. Clay Fire is an accredited fire department located in northern St. Joseph County, Indiana.

Chief Schabbel holds a bachelor’s degree in fire service management and a master’s degree in organizational leadership.  In addition, Chief Schabbel completed the Executive Management Program at the University of Notre Dame and has attended Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. Chief Schabbel is an Executive Fire Officer (EFO) graduate and has received Chief Fire Officer (CFO) designation from the Center for Public Safety Excellence.

During his tenure as Fire Chief with Clay Fire, Chief Schabbel initiated and led two successful mergers with adjoining fire departments, as well as transitioned the department from a traditional Township Fire Department to a "Fire Territory" that currently provides services to five separate governmental entities.

Chief Schabbel is a past president of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) Great Lakes Division and continues to serve on numerous state and national fire service committees. In 2007, Chief Schabbel received Indiana’s first “Fire Chief of the Year” award by the Indiana Fire Chiefs Association, and received the IAFC’s Safety and Survival Sections Garry Briese Safety Performance Award in 2008.