Great Lakes Division

International Association of Fire Chiefs

  • The International Association of Fire Chiefs
  • The Great Lakes Division is one of eight which make up the International and represent  the United States and Canada. Each division has an "International Director" or member of their division board who sits on the International Board. The divisions are comprised of the following:
    • Canadian Division
    • Eastern Division
    • Great Lakes Division
    • Missouri Valley Division
    • New England Division
    • Southeastern Division
    • Southwestern Division
    • Western Division
  • There are also sections - or special interest groups so to speak - which also have International Directors positions on the International Board. Many members of the IAFC are also members of the various sections. The sections include:
    •  EMS Section
    •  Emergency Vehicle Management Section
    •  Federal & Military Fire Services Section
    •  Fire & Life Safety Section
    •  Industrial Fire and Safety Section
    •  Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association
    •  Safety, Health and Survival Section
    •  Volunteer & Combination Officers Section
  • There are also association officers who are elected by the membership at large and who make up the "Executive Board" (which also includes one of the division officers appointed by the president - normally from his/her home division). The elected officers of the IAFC include:
    • President
    • Immediate Past President
    • Treasurer
    • 1st Vice president
    • 2nd Vice President

Day to day business of the association is the responsibility of the Executive Director who is hired by the International Board to oversee operations, and manage our professional staff at IAFC Headquarters which is located in Fairfax, Virginia.